Chris Garner

Chris Garner enters his sixth season as the head coach of the Navy men’s tennis team in the fall of 2019.

Navy is coming off of its second trip to the NCAA Tournament in as many years and the third NCAA appearance in Garner’s five seasons in 2019. Navy ended the year with a 31-14 record, which included a 9-0 record against league foes. He was recognized as the coach of the year for the third time, while Andrew Ton as named the league’s player of the year and Derrick Thompson received league rookie-of-the-year honors.

Garner’s 2018 Mids also advanced to the NCAA Tournament. Navy posted an overall record of 28-11 and compiled a 10-1 record against Patriot League foes last year. The Mids entered the league tournament as the top-seeded team and made that seed hold up as Navy won the league championship for the second time in his four seasons. Garner himself was selected as the 2018 league coach of the year as well as the Wilson / ITA Atlantic Region Coach of the Year.

Navy has reached the title match of the league tournament in each of his five seasons. The Mids also claimed the 2015 tournament crown.

Navy has posted an overall record of 123-63 in his five years on The Yard, which includes a combined record of 38-5 against league foes (25-3 in regular season matches, 13-2 in the league tournament).

The 2017 campaign saw Navy total a 22-18 record on the year and a combined 6-2 record in matches played against league competition. The Mids also dropped matches to a number of standout programs such as SMU, William & Mary and Penn.

Garner led the Mids to an overall record of 22-9 and a No. 1 seed in the 2016 Patriot League Tournament. Four of Navy’s losses came in matches decided by the final score of 4-3, with two more defeats coming to No. 45 Princeton and No. 15 Columbia. Individually, Austin Jones capped his career by becoming just the third Mid to be tabbed as the Patriot League Player of the Year.

His inaugural 2015 season at Navy was a memorable one as he guided the Mids to an overall record of 20-11, the 2015 Patriot League Tournament title and a return to the NCAA Tournament.